Picture
Today is my final day in Brussels.  I cannot believe that this four month adventure is actually coming to an end!  It has been a whirlwind trip full of challenging and amazing moments.

Last night, we went downtown to celebrate my roommate Nora's 21st birthday.  We ventured to Delirium for one last time, wandered through the beautifully lit Grand Place, and danced at a local club.  It was enjoyable and carefree without the stress of work and classes.  I began to feel sentimental, wishing that I had taken more advantage of the beautiful city while I was here.  But ultimately, I have no regrets and I am extremely grateful for all that this experience has brought me: the memories, the adventures, the new perspectives...

In honor of this being my final entry, I've compiled a list of the top 10 things that I've missed about the US and the top 10 things that I will miss about Brussels.

US Top 10
10) The PAC workout center
9) Free water at restaurants
8) Riding in a car
7) My Blackberry/texting
6) The ease of communication sans language barrier and time zone difference
5) Efficiency of banking and bureaucracy
4) American football
3) My Wardrobe
2) Starbucks/Panera/Smoothie King/Target
1) My family, friends, and pets

Brussels Top 10
10) Sunday markets
9) Daily integration of environmentally friendly options (i.e. motion-operated escalators)
8) Acceptance of dogs
7) Belgian beer
6) Fanta Zero
5) Daring fashion choices (and amaaaazing boots!)
4) Belvita chocolate cookie snacks
3) Ease of travel to other countries
2) Breathtaking view of Grand Place at night
1) My roommates
Ashley
12/15/2009 05:14:23 am

Miss Gill,
I am sure you are loving home as much as I am! I think your top 10 really nailed it right. But like you, you are number one on your roommates' lists as well! I am really looking forward to our Brussels reunion at Furman!

Ash

P.S. If you ever want to relieve Brussels, think Epickest Boom! :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.