Last night, I had the opportunity to experience the true Brussels “home life” when my supervisor from work invited me to attend her weekly Wednesday dinner at her apartment.  After getting a bit lost in search of the proper bus stop (typical), I made it to her quaint apartment in an area of Brussels that, although only about 3 minutes away by bus, I had never been to before.  She warmly greeted me and invited me to sit down in her cozy living room with a glass of wine.  The walls were covered with smiling family portraits, and snapshots of her children.  One wall of the room was painted with an elaborate and beautiful red and white tree – created by her teenage daughter.  The computer screensaver featured a slideshow of family moments, some in that very living room. 

The TV was tuned to a news channel where the big topic was, not surprisingly, the recent election of Henry van Rompuy as the new President of the European Council.  Lala and I began discussing the controversy of the matter as this low-profile man rises to such an esteemed position.  Many Europeans are skeptical about his ability to lead, so it was interesting to hear her opinion.  She admitted that while he is not the most well known politician, he is by no means the worst man for the position.

Soon, guests began to trickle in.  The party eventually grew to 10 people, and I was among the 2 who do not speak French.  Lala was very accommodating, however, as she filled us in on the French dialogue.  She also made an effort to ask us questions about everything from life in Brussels to homeopathy.  I actually learned quite a bit about cultural differences in our multilingual smorgasbord of conversation.  Musicals, for instance, are not very popular outside of the US and the UK.  Thinking back, I cannot fathom a childhood without the Wizard of Oz, Meet Me in St. Louis, or Cinderella: The Musical.  Lala explained that her children were extremely put off by the films...very bizarre to me.

It was inexplicably refreshing to be around a dinner table, eating a delicious home-cooked meal of chicken curry and lentils, laughing and exchanging stories.  Even with the language barrier, the energy was incredibly warm and blissful.

While I love the sights and sounds on the bustling streets of Brussels, it was a wonderful experience to get an inside look at Brussels family life, and realize that this love and care is possible all over the globe.





Dave
11/26/2009 10:20:15 am

"Meet me in St. Louis", eh? Wonder who introduced you to that particular movie? Very nice talking to you today- ah, the technological wonders provided by computers! Enjoy your Thanksgiving and your remaining days overseas.

Reply



Leave a Reply.